Is debt the key to sustainable development in Africa?

In 2020, David MALPASS, President of the World Bank (WB), criticized the African Development Bank (AfDB) for granting loans to certain African countries in an ill-considered manner. In response, the AfDB issued a statement: "... our Bank recognizes and closely follows the upward trend in debt. However, there is no systematic risk of over-indebtedness".

According to the WB's April 2023 report, sub-Saharan Africa's debt in December 2022 was estimated at 1140 billion USD, representing a median weighting of 57% of GDP. By way of comparison, at the same date, global debt stood at 300 billion USD. Africa therefore represents only 0.4% of the global debt stock, which is very marginal.

However, according to the AfDB's " African Economic Outlook 2024 ", Africa needs to structurally transform itself by financing strategic investments. The financing gap for these investments (education, energy, technology, transport infrastructure, etc.) is around 402 billion USD/year until 2030. According to the IMF, " Africa needs USD 2,800 billion between 2020 and 2030 to adapt to global warming and reduce its greenhouse gas emissions; the resources committed to date are insufficient, only USD 300 billion ". According to Christian YOKA, Africa Director of Agence Française de Développement (AFD), at least 250 billion USD/year, or 10% of the continent's GDP, is needed to close the gap.

To achieve this, Africa needs to grow faster than the rest of the world, between 7 and 10% a year, and meet the aspirations of its very young population, against a backdrop of declining international financing and rising borrowing costs, with the particularity that rising interest rates worldwide affect Africa the most. Trade and transport infrastructures need to be improved, as do productive investments, as Asia did in the 1990s.

It is necessary to increase Africa's external financial flows while at the same time strengthening domestic resources. In particular, it is crucial to raise the ratio of own resources to GDP to over 27% in order to effectively combat poverty. Expanding the tax base must go hand in hand with good governance, notably by reducing the expensive and lavish lifestyle of sub-Saharan African states.

Debt is also desirable, but only in the form of concessional-rate debt. This debt should finance development infrastructures and productive investments, which should be analyzed and structured by financial specialists rather than mere civil servants.

 

 

BIOGRAPHY

Hubert OTELE ESSOMBA was born on September 14, 1968 in Yaoundé, the capital of Cameroon. His early interest in numbers led him to the Lycée Technique de Douala (the only establishment of its kind at the time), where he obtained a Baccalauréat G2, Techniques Quantitatives de Gestion, before flying to France to continue his studies at IAE-Université Jean Moulin-Lyon III. There he obtained the Diplôme d'Etudes Comptables et Financières, before later taking the Global Executive MBA Finance (IHFI) at IFG Executive Education and a Master 2 in Financial Management at Paris Panthéon I Sorbonne.

He was in turn Managing Director of Central Africa for the British aeronautical firm Aircraft Portfolio Management, Managing Director of AKENO S.A., a company specializing in LPG gas distribution in Cameroon, and Associate Director of the financial consultancy firm G&M Finance (financial investigation, financial diagnosis, in-depth financial analysis, investment advice and fund-raising on international financial markets...).

He is the author of numerous publications specializing in finance in Cameroon ("The financial system, a major player in the fight against Covid-19"; "Debt relief and the urgent need to reallocate public resources"; "The return of Keynesianism and state indebtedness"; "Economic sanctions against Russia: Africa could be a collateral beneficiary", etc.).

He is also the author of the book "les ailes brisées de l'Albatros", published by l'Harmattan in March 2023.

Back to top

Download the brochure

L’endettement est-il la clé du développement durable de l‘Afrique ?

En 2020, David MALPASS, Président de la Banque Mondiale (BM) reprochait à la Banque Africaine de Développement (BAD) d’accorder à certains pays africains des prêts de manière inconsidérée. La BAD avait répondu par un communiqué « … notre Banque reconnaît et suit de près la tendance à la hausse de la dette. Cependant, il n’y a pas de risque systématique de surendettement ».

Selon le rapport de la BM en Avril 2023, la dette de l’Afrique subsaharienne en Décembre 2022 était estimée à 1140 milliards USD, soit un poids médian de 57% du PIB. A titre comparatif, les créances mondiales sont à la même date, de 300 milliards USD. L’Afrique ne représente alors que 0,4% du stock mondial de la dette, ce qui est très marginal.

Or, d’après la BAD dans sa publication « Perspectives économiques en Afrique en 2024 », l’Afrique doit se transformer structurellement en finançant des investissements stratégiques. Le déficit de financement pour ces investissements (éducation, énergie, technologie, infrastructures de transport…) est d’environ 402 milliards USD/an jusqu’en 2030. D’après le FMI, « l’Afrique a besoin de 2800 milliards entre 2020 et 2030 pour s’adapter au réchauffement climatique et réduire ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre ; les ressources engagées jusqu’ici étant insuffisantes, seulement  300 milliards USD ». Pour réduire l’écart, il faut au moins 250 milliards USD/an, soit 10% du PIB du continent d’après Christian YOKA, Directeur Afrique de l’Agence Française de Développement (AFD).

Par y parvenir, l’Afrique doit enregistrer une croissance plus rapide que le reste du monde, entre 7 et 10% annuel et répondre aux aspirations de sa population très jeune, dans un contexte de diminution des financements internationaux et un renchérissement du coût des emprunts avec la particularité que la hausse des taux d’intérêt dans le monde affecte plus l’Afrique. Les infrastructures de commerce et de transport doivent être améliorées, ainsi qu’accroître les investissements productifs comme l’Asie l’a fait dans les années 1990.

Il est nécessaire d’augmenter les flux financiers externes de l’Afrique tout en renforçant parallèlement les ressources intérieures. En particulier, il est crucial d’augmenter le ratio des ressources propres par rapport au PIB pour le porter à plus de 27% du PIB afin de lutter efficacement contre la pauvreté. L’élargissement de l’assiette fiscale doit être accompagné d’une bonne gouvernance, notamment par la réduction du train de vie dispendieux et somptuaire des États d’Afrique subsaharienne.

L’endettement est également souhaitable, mais uniquement sous forme de dette à taux concessionnel. Cette dette doit financer des infrastructures de développement et des investissements productifs, qui doivent être analysés et structurés par des spécialistes de la finance plutôt que par de simples fonctionnaires.

 

 

BIOGRAPHIE

Hubert OTELE ESSOMBA est né le 14 Septembre 1968 à Yaoundé, capitale du Cameroun. Il s’intéresse tôt aux chiffres, ce qui le conduit au Lycée Technique de Douala (seul établissement de ce type à l’époque) où il obtient un Baccalauréat G2, Techniques Quantitatives de Gestion et il s’envole en France pour continuer ses études à l’IAE-Université Jean Moulin-Lyon III. Il y obtiendra le Diplôme d’Etudes Comptables et Financières, avant de faire plus tard le Global Executive MBA Finance (IHFI) à IFG Executive Education et un Master 2 en Management Financier à Paris Panthéon I Sorbonne.

Il a été tour à tour DGA Afrique Centrale du Cabinet aéronautique anglais Aircraft Portfolio Management, DG d’AKENO S.A, société spécialisée dans la distribution du gaz GPL au Cameroun, en même temps Directeur associé du Cabinet d’expertise financière G&M Finance (investigation financière, diagnostic financier, analyse financière approfondie, conseil en investissement et levée des fonds sur les marchés financiers internationaux…).

Il est l’auteur de nombreuses publications spécialisées dans le domaine de la finance au Cameroun (« le système financier, un acteur majeur dans la lutte contre la Covid-19 » ; « allègement de la dette et urgence d’une réallocation des ressources publiques » ; « retour du Keynésianisme et de l’endettement des Etats » ; « Sanctions économiques contre la Russie : l’Afrique pourrait être un bénéficiaire collatéral », etc…)

Il est également l’auteur du livre « les ailes brisées de l’Albatros », paru aux éditions l’Harmattan en Mars 2023.

Retour en haut

Télécharger la brochure